Siobhan of the Dead’s Top 10 Animations of the Decade!

10. Frozen 2 (2019):

I did have Frozen in this spot, and then I saw Frozen 2 and I felt it surpassed the first film in man ways, it felt more polished, more grown-up, in themes, but also in structure and story and although I still love Frozen I think the second one deserved a place in my top ten animations more. 

9. Mary & the Witch’s Flower (2017):

For Studio Ponoc’s debut, this film is wonderful, I was captivated by the background art, the very English countryside setting and the wonderous magical themes that are enhanced by the gorgeous animation make this such a whimsical and gorgeous film. 

8. The LEGO Batman Movie (2017):

This movie has no right to be as great as it is, somehow it surpasses The LEGO Movie, keeping with the fantastic stop-motion style of animation that has some of the best textures and amazingly imaginative use of LEGO peices in the original film; The LEGO Batman Movie is a whole lot of fun, ridiculous, but fun and is honestly one of my favourite Batman movies ever made.

7. The Wind Rises (2013):

This took me a while to watch, but I am so glad I got around to it, this is classic Ghibli, beautifully animated, with a wonderful story that reminded me a lot of Porco Rosso, without the talking pig! 

6. The Adventures of Tintin The Secret of the Unicorn (2011):

I was never really into Tintin as a child, but this movie really grabbed my attention. The animation is stunning in parts, really captured the look of the comics, whilst being its own thing. The story is a lot of fun and the voice acting form a wonderful cast is the cherry on top! 

5. Moana (2016):

This film is simply beautiful from start to finish and its greatest achievement is making water a character, the animation of the water is stunning, the entire scene with baby Moana is one of the most gorgeous things I have seen in animation. Lin-Manuel Miranda, Mark Mancina and Opetaia Foa’i’s incredible songs and score reduces me to tears every time I listen to it but paired with the film and the beautiful animation and I am a mess. 

4. How to Train Your Dragon (2010):

Based on Cressida Cowell’s children’s stories, How to Train Your Dragon is simply stunning, with a great balance of silliness and beautiful spectacle. The score is exemplary, and the entire ‘Test Drive’ scene is breathtaking. The dragon design is so playful and interesting, especially Toothless who is wonderfully adorable but at the same time so menacing.

3. Song of the Sea (2014):

This damn film does not get enough recognition. Made by the Irish animation studio, Cartoon Saloon, Song of the Sea is a beautiful, heartfelt, wonderfully animated film that has an art style so unique, go and watch it. 

2. Coco (2017):

Coco is one of Pixar’s greatest films, it is so different for them, it is just a gorgeous spectacle at times, but then reduces it all down to intimate moments that are so emotional and beautiful. I have never cried so much after the credits finished rolling than I did with this film. The music is wonderful and charming and the animation is stunning. This is truly a very special film.

1. Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse: 

This film is just impeccable from start to finish, with an animation style that is so technically impressive and visually stunning I could talk about it for hours on end. The way in which the animators have captured the comic book style and converted it into animation is just stunning. But the story is so much fun, the characters are so well rounded, the music is epic. This film is a must-see, I can’t praise it enough. 

One response to “Siobhan of the Dead’s Top 10 Animations of the Decade!

  1. Seems like a great and diverse list of some animated gems. I don’t know if this will reach you in time but when it comes to film critics on WordPress I feel that we’re a very transit group (the best move on to publications and the unsuccessful quit early) and we don’t have as much sense of community as on this platform as the Anime or book folk seem to do.

    I don’t think I’m the best candidate to bring people together but I did want to offer a fun little celebration of the group of critics we do have around here. Oscars are tonight, and I’m asking some the great critics around to send me their Oscar predictions and I’ll give $5 to whoever proves to be the best at it. Too much arguing over bad takes, I just want to bring some people together to celebrate this years nominees, promote some awesome sites, and crown a champion for the fun of it. If that’s something you’d want to be dealt into, what do you have to lose.

    Like

Leave a comment