Review: Roma (2018)

Written and directed by acclaimed director Alfonso CuarónRoma is a semi-autobiographical story partially based on Cuarón’s upbringing in the Colonia Roma area of Mexico City. It focuses on the daily life of Cleo, a housekeeper for a middle-class family.

Roma reminds me of the type of film I would watch when studying foreign language films during my masters. Films that I felt were so high-brow and so intellectual, those that I felt I should immediately love just because I was a ‘Film Student TM’. But sadly I never did. I often found myself hooked for the first ten minutes, purely because they were often quite different. I then became bored for the entire middle and then hooked again in the last twenty minutes or so. With Roma, I had a very similar experience.

Read more on BattleRoyalWithCheese.com

Leave a comment